Astrology truly is a very fascinating subject.  Most of us know our astological star sign but we are not always familiar with the personal characteristics associated with each sign.

So What Is Astrology?

Astrology is the study of cycles.  The planets, the Moon and the Sun all move in their own space and time according to individual cycles.  The body of knowledge upon which modern astrology is based is thought to be compiled by the ancient Greeks.  With their advanced understanding of mathematics and astronomy, together with descriptions handed down from astrologers and astronomers from ancient Egypt and Babylonia.  The Greeks put together a knowledge base upon which modern astrology today is based.

What Is A Star Sign?

What is commonly refered to as a star sign, is the sign of the zodiac that the Sun was in when you were born.

Is The Suns Position Important?

Earth continues to circle around the Sun.  Earth is the third planet from the Sun and the fifth largest planet.  It takes Earth 12 months to rotate once around the Sun.  As Earth rotates it receives solar rays from the Sun from the continually changing angles.  This pattern of cycles gives the four astrological seasons which are birth, growth, maturity and death.  The four weather seasons are bought about by the relationship between the Earth and the Sun.  The Sun contains 99.85% of all matter of the solar system.  Did you know that the Sun is a star and there are more than 100 billion stars in the solar system.  That sure is alot of stars.  The date when the Sun leaves one star sign and enters another, varies by only a day or two each month, occurring sometime between the 20th and 23rd.  Therefore, the star sign of those born during the ond day when the Sun moves into the next star sign, is by the time they were born.  People born on or around these dates, are said to be born on the cusp.  This means that it is uncertain if the Sun had already entered another star sign on the day they were born.

How Are Star Sign Descriptions Based?

Some traits are shared by more than the one star sign.  Astrology uses two general classifications to explain how the same characteristic is sometimes shared by different star signs.  These classifications focus on the nature of each star sign, as they are distinct from one another.  One classificaitons is called Elements which divides the twelve star signs into groups of four.  These groups are Fire, Earth, Air and Water.  The other classification is call Qualities.  This divides the twelve star signs into three groups which are either Cardinal signs, Fixed signs or Mutable signs.

So What Are Elements?

Elements define their characteristics on whether a person’s reaction to everything in life is physical, pragmatic, intellectual or emotional.  A person’s first reaction is an instantaneous process.   To describe an event as if it occurs in slow motion makes it easy to understand how one person’s primary reaction may be different from another person’s reaction.  It also refers to how much these tendancies are responsible for influencing the way we think and the things we do.

The FIRE element is represented by the star signs of Aries, Leo and Sagittarius.  People born under these signs have a physical reaction to everything in life.  Those born under a fire sign need to act now, and will often speak their mind first without even thinking about the consequences later.  Fire signs are often very active people.

The second element of EARTH is represented by the star signs Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn.  Very practical in nature and need a purpose to do something.  Earth signs assess everything that presents to them in terms of being able to acheive their personal goals.  They are very resourceful people who recognize and enjoy material comforts and will expend their energy in that direction.  Often not motivated to do anything inparticular until it is necessary.


The third  element of AIR is represented by the star signs of Gemini, Libra and Aquarius.  Air signs focus their attention upon information available to form an unbiased and complete judgement.  Air signs can become side tracked looking for lifes lessons to be learned.  Air signs are attracted to all types of communication and education, they make objective decisions and have impartial judgements.  What works in theory may not always work for them in reality and this is something that needs to be learnedThe fourth element of WATER is represented by the star signs of Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces.  Water signs always lead with their hearts and their feelings dominate their decisions.  Such personalities must learn to control their possessiveness and emotional dependency.  Water signs are also the most sensitive of all the star signs.  The emotional environment in which they are raised as children, will play a major role in determining their emotional and metal health status as adults.  Water signs tend to be shy and are in need of constant reassurance.  They are usually willing to do anything based upon how they feel at the time.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top